Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

Public Health

Quick Links

Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My healthevet badge

Staff of the Clinical Public Health Group

 

Note: Emails sent to these addresses are not secure. Please do not include personal data. To send a secure email, use VA's Ask a Question - IRIS (a secure website contracted to VA).

Clinical Public Health Group

Richard Martinello, M.D.
Chief Consultant
richard.martinello@va.gov

Janet M. Durfee, R.N., M.S.N., A.P.R.N.
Deputy Chief Consultant
George Mason University - Master of Science, Nursing
Concordia College - Bachelor of Science, Nursing
janet.durfee@va.gov

Lori Ann Bossard
Management Analyst
USDA Graduate School - Aspiring Leader Program, Washington, D.C.
Lori.Bossard@va.gov

Troy Knighton, Ed.S., L.P.C.
Senior Public Health Program Manager
University of Virginia - Education Specialist, Counselor Education in Community Agencies
American University - Master of Education, Student Development in Higher Education
Mary Washington College - Bachelor of Science, Environmental Biology
troy.knighton@va.gov

Loren K. Akaka, M.P.H.
Health Science Specialist
Walden University - Master of Public Health
University of Hawaii at Hilo - Bachelor of Arts, Biology
loren.akaka@va.gov

John E. Kraemer, M.H.S.A.
Program Analyst
Xavier University – Master of Health Services Administration
Winona State University – Bachelor of Arts, Business Administration
john.e.kraemer@va.gov

Donna Wells-Taylor, M.S., R.R.T.
Public Health Program Manager
Independence University - Master of Science in Health Services w/Emphasis in Wellness Promotion
Long Island University - Bachelor of Science, Respiratory Therapy
donna.wells-taylor@va.gov

Gaudencio Funtanilla
Administrative Officer
gaudencio.funtanilla2@va.gov

Bianca Farber
Program Support Assistant
Bianca.Farber@va.gov

 

HIV, Hepatitis, and Public Health Pathogens Programs

David Ross, M.D., Ph.D.
Director
New York University – Doctor of Philosophy, Biochemistry
New York University School of Medicine – Doctor of Medicine
Yale University – Bachelor of Science, Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry
david.ross4@va.gov

Deputy Director - Vacant

Lorenzo L. McFarland, D.H.A., M.S.W., P.M.P.
Senior Public Health Program Manager
University of Phoenix - Doctor of Health Administration
Our Lady of the Lake University - Master of Social Work
Excelsior College - Bachelor of Science, Liberal Arts
Community College of the Air Force - Associates in Instructor of Technology and Military Science
Community College of the Air Force - Associates in Allied Health Sciences
lorenzo.mcfarland@va.gov

Marguerite A. Petrucci
National Clinical Public Health Program Coordinator
marguerite.petrucci@va.gov

Maggie Chartier, Psy.D., M.P.H.
National Public Health Clinical Psychologist
PGSP-Stanford University Consortium – Doctor of Psychology
University of Washington, Seattle – Master of Public Health
Bowdoin College – Bachelor of Arts, Liberal Arts
maggie.chartier@va.gov

Catherine Rongey, M.D., M.S.H.S.
Viral Hepatitis National Public Health Clinical Lead
University of California Los Angeles - Masters in Health Service Research
University of Southern California Keck School of Medicine - Doctor of Medicine
Rice University- Bachelor of Arts, Biochemistry; Bachelor of Arts, Biology
catherine.rongey2@va.gov

Marissa Maier, M.D.
Senior Medical Officer
University of California, San Francisco - Doctor of Medicine
Brown University - Bachelor of Arts, Development Studies, Environmental Studies
marissa.maier@va.gov

 

Public Health Surveillance and Research

Mark Holodniy, M.D., F.A.C.P.
Director
Professor of Medicine, Stanford University
Northwestern University – Doctor of Medicine
Seattle University – Bachelor of Science, Biology
mark.holodniy@va.gov

Gina Oda, M.S., C.I.C
Associate Director
Emory University - Master of Science, Clinical Microbiology
University of Rhode Island - Bachelor of Science, Microbiology
gina.oda@va.gov

Jude Lopez, Ph.D., C.C.R.A.
Administrative Officer
Certified Clinical Research Associate
Stanford University - Doctor of Philosophy, Comparative Renaissance Literature
Stanford University - Master of Arts, Literature
University of California, Los Angeles - Bachelor of Arts, Humanities
jude.lopez@va.gov

Donna Brown, B.A.
Program Specialist
California State University Hayward– Bachelor of Arts, English
donna.brown4@va.gov

Cynthia Lucero-Obusan, M.D.
Epidemiologist
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill – Doctor of Medicine
University of California, Berkeley - Bachelor of Arts, Integrative Biology
cynthia.lucero@va.gov

Anosh Mostaghimi, M.S.
Program Specialist/IT Liaison
University of St. Thomas - Master of Science, Computer Science
University of Wisconsin - Bachelor of Science, Zoology
University of Minnesota - Bachelor of Arts, Computer Science
anoshiravan.mostaghimi@va.gov  

Robin Tracy Phillips, M.F.A.
Program Specialist/Administrative Assistant
Academy of Art - Master of Fine Arts, Photography
Carleton College - Bachelor of Arts, History
robintracy.phillips@va.gov

Patricia Schirmer, M.D.
Epidemiologist
Northwestern University - Doctor of Medicine
Emory University - Bachelor of Science, Neuroscience and Behavioral Biology
patricia.schirmer@va.gov

Carla Winston, Ph.D.
Epidemiologist
Emory University – Doctor of Philosophy, Epidemiology
Stanford University – Master of Arts, Medical Anthropology
Stanford University – Bachelor of Arts, Anthropology
carla.winston@va.gov

Michael Winter, B.A.
Program Specialist/IT Liaison
San Francisco State University - Bachelor of Arts, Speech Communication
michael.winter@va.gov

Russell Ryono, Pharm.D.
Health Science Specialist
University of the Pacific – Doctor of Pharmacy
russell.ryono@va.gov

 

Tobacco & Health: Policy & Programs

Kim Hamlett-Berry, Ph.D.
Director
Catholic University of America - Doctor of Philosophy, Clinical Psychology
Wake Forest University - Master of Arts, General Experimental Psychology
College of William and Mary - Bachelor of Arts, Psychology
kim.hamlett@va.gov

Dana E. Christofferson, Ph.D.
Presidential Management Fellow
Harvard University – Doctor of Philosophy, Cell and Developmental Biology
Cornell University – Bachelor of Science, Biology
dana.christofferson@va.gov